Life Science Syllabus for Middle School

Life science

Life Science, also known as biological science encompasses the branches of science that involve the study of live organisms (plants, animals and human beings) and life processes. This life science syllabus outlines the major concepts of course which can be divided into two parts

Core Concepts:
  1. The basics of life
  2. Cell Biology
  3. Green Plants      
  4. Animal Life Cycles       
  5. Evolution
  6. Ecosystems
Human System:
  1. Human Digestive System
  2. Human Respiratory System
  3. Human Circulatory System
  4. Human Endocrine System
  5. Human Nervous System
  6. Human Skeletal System
  7. Human Senses

Starting with the core concepts, let’s get a brief idea about the core concepts of Life Science.

1. The basics of life:

It includes a basic understanding of human life. The air in our surroundings has two elements present in it; nitrogen (78.1% by volume) and oxygen (21%).

2. Cell Biology:

A brief introduction to cells and their types (Prokaryotic and eukaryotic), and the overall structure of cell which includes mitochondria and chloroplasts.

3. Green Plants:

Learning about the green plants and their parts; roots, stem, leaves and their respective functions in the plants.

4. Animal Life Cycles:

Animals have a shorter life span than humans. Which animal lives for how many years? Which climatic condition do they survive in? What do they eat to survive? All of these questions will be covered in this topic.

5. Evolution:

The process of heritable change in different organisms over multiple generations and how their evolution gave birth to new species.

6. Ecosystems:

An ecosystem can be defined as a large community which engulfs all living organisms (plants, animals and microbes) in a particular area. The types and different sizes of ecosystems are also covered in this topic.

Let’s now get a brief idea about the human system:

1. Human Digestive System:

The system used in the human body for the process of digestion. It’s structure and organs through which food and liquids pass and get processed into forms absorbable into the bloodstream.

2. Human Respiratory System:

The system in humans that inhales oxygen and exhales carbon dioxide; functions of lungs and diaphragm.

3. Human Circulatory System:

The human system that circulates nutrients and essential gases throughout a living organism. The three systems that work in the circulatory system; cardiovascular, pulmonary and systemic.

4. Human Endocrine System:

An endocrine system is a group of ductless glands that help in the functioning of the human body by secreting chemical substances and hormones that regulate the human system.

5. Human Nervous System:

The part of the human body that conducts stimuli by transmitting signals between different parts of the body; the brain and the spinal cord. The two main parts of the nervous system; central and peripheral.

6. Human Skeletal System:

The human skeletal system consists of 206 bones, a number of cartilages and connective tissues; ligaments and tendons connected with the human skeleton.

7. Human Senses:

The five human senses i.e sight, hear, smell, taste and touch through its sensing organs; eyes, ears, nose, tongue and hands (or skin).

For the above topics, you can use some reference books such as Life Science by McGraw-Hill Education.

You may also like...